California Exposed Firearm Permit - Open Carry

Oct. 17th - 18th, 2014
9:00AM - 5:00PM
Class Location
Raahauge's Shooting Enterprises
Dec. 5th - 6th, 2014
9:00AM- 5:00PM
Class Location
Raahauge's Shooting Enterprises
Please fill out the registration form below the class description.

This course is sanctioned by the California Bureau of Security and Investigative Services (BSIS) and meets the mandatory qualifications for the State Firearms Permit. The course is a total of 14 hours; 8 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours range instruction/qualification.

+ Legal and moral responsibilities
+ Firearms nomenclature/ maintenance
+ Weapons handling/ safety
+ Fundamentals of shooting
+ Mindset and situational awareness
+ Emergency procedures
+ Firearms qualification

Upon completion of this course, you will need to submit an application to BSIS. Per BSIS regulations, you must qualify for each specific caliber you intend to carry. Proof of US Citizenship or permanent residency is required for this course.

Equipment/ Ammunition:(Firearm(s) can be provided at no additional costs, upon request in advance) + Eye and ear protection
+ Firearm(s)
+ Holster and Belt
+ Ammunition carrying apparatus
+ 2 magazines or 1 speedloader per weapon
+ 200 rounds of ammo for primary caliber
+ 50 rounds of ammo per additional caliber
+ Shirt with sleeves, and hat


BSIS Firearm permit expires two years from the date of issuance. The law requires the applicant re-qualify four times during the life of the permit; twice during the first year after the date of issuance and twice during the second year following issuance. Re-qualifications must be at least four months apart. The applicant must submit the application for renewal to BSIS, within 60 days before the expiration date. Per BSIS regulations, if you allow your permit to expire, you must apply for a new one. 50 rounds per caliber for re-qualification.

The course fee includes 4 caliber types.

Please call for more information about re-qualification.

Register For Class


Deposit Already on File? Click Here!


to make a $50 deposit for this class*

* The $50.00 deposit guarantees you a roster position and therefore is non-refundable. If you are unable to attend a class - a 3-day notice is required to transfer your deposit towards a future class. If no notice is made - your deposit is subject to forfeit. Any required range fees will be due when payment of the remaining balance for the class is paid.